Forcing label items to remain on the same line

Jump to solution
07-14-2017 07:45 AM
deleted-user-hwcOLD4Ux5CR
New Contributor II

Hi all,

I'm new to working with label expressions in ArcGIS Pro and I was hoping for some help. The expression I'm working with is as follows (VBScript):

[full_name] + " (Z:" & [zone] & " R:" & [rank_id] &")"

I realize my syntax and labeling structure is messy, but it's been getting the job done. The label is displaying a client name followed by their zone and rank numbers in parenthesis. Example: ExampleName (Z:1 R:10) The problem I'm having occurs when a longer client name forces what I have in parenthesis on to two different lines when I have label stacking enabled.

Is there a way to ensure that my information inside the parenthesis always stays together on the same line?

Any help is appreciated!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MervynLotter
Occasional Contributor III

A less elegant option (without code) would be to simply change the label engine from Maplex to Standard Label Engine by un-selecting the Use Maplex Label Engine under the more options.

This should ensure all labels are on one line.

View solution in original post

12 Replies
MervynLotter
Occasional Contributor III

A less elegant option (without code) would be to simply change the label engine from Maplex to Standard Label Engine by un-selecting the Use Maplex Label Engine under the more options.

This should ensure all labels are on one line.

deleted-user-hwcOLD4Ux5CR
New Contributor II

This seems to be solved my issue:

I turned off Maplex Label Engine and added \n before my parenthesis to push this portion onto to the second line. [full_name] + "\n (Z:" & [zone] & " R:" & [rank_id] &")"

There must be a way to format this in Maplex, but using a line break was creating too large of a break for my desired label appearance. For now, the less elegant option does the job.

CiaraRowland-Simms
Esri Contributor

Hi Brandon,