Cloning a python environment

01-20-2022 04:22 AM
RyanDavidson1
New Contributor III

Hi!

I'm a beginner with Object detection and am trying to go through the process of installing Deep learning libraries. I have been following the workflow in this link

Performing Feature Extraction & Classification Using Deep Learning with ArcGIS Pro (esri.com)

aswell as this

Deep Learning with ArcGIS Pro Tips & Tricks: Part 1 (esri.com)

I have hit a wall when trying to clone the default python environment, i get an error and the cloning step doesn't finalize. 

Is cloning the environment a must do? Or can i just skip that part?

Arcgis Pro 2.9.1

Windows 11 education

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Luke_Pinner
MVP Regular Contributor

How are you trying to clone (conda command or ArcGIS Pro Python Package Manager GUI)? What is the error message? Are you in a corporate environment with restrictive IT security? 

0 Kudos
RyanDavidson1
New Contributor III

In the python package manager, It starts to install packages into the clone but it seems to gets stuck on 'torch_geometric-1.7.2'

Error message is

ERROR conda.core.link:_execute(700): An error occurred while installing package 'defaults::scikit-learn-0.24.2-py37hf11a4ad_1'.

LinkError: post-link script failed for package defaults::scikit-learn-0.24.2-py37hf11a4ad_1
location of failed script: C:\Users\Ryan\AppData\Local\ESRI\conda\envs\arcgispro-py3-clone-1\Scripts\.scikit-learn-post-link.bat
==> script messages <==
<None>
==> script output <==
stdout:
stderr: 'conda' is not recognized as an internal or external command,

0 Kudos
Luke_Pinner
MVP Regular Contributor

Looks like the .scikit-learn-post-link.bat can't find the conda command, try adding the directory that conda is installed to to your PATH environment variable.