Attribute Rule - Year from Date & Time field

Jump to solution
02-09-2022 12:20 PM
JessicaJThompson
Occasional Contributor II

Hello! (ArcGIS Pro 2.9.1)

I am trying to sort out what I am doing wrong with my attribute rule. This is my first time dabbling with it. 

I have two fields. One is a date and time field. This is filled by a survey. The Year field is where I want to apply an attribute field. I want it to only have the four digit year from the date and time field.  However, the year that is returning is 1899. 

JessicaJThompson_0-1644437769392.png

JessicaJThompson_1-1644437838208.png

I have tried a few variations in the expression but none are working. 

JessicaJThompson_2-1644438004038.png

Thank you for your kind help to solve this. 

Cheers,

Jessica Thompson

0 Kudos
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
JessicaJThompson

@jcarlson Thank you for taking time to help me. 

Ok. that is what I put in! So we are getting close. 

JessicaJThompson_0-1644503034156.png

JessicaJThompson_3-1644503497860.png

JessicaJThompson_1-1644503298151.png

The very first time (when it was still a date field) it returned 1899. This time it returned a null value.

JessicaJThompson_2-1644503445244.png

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

If you just run a field calculation, does it work? Or are you manually triggering the rule some other way? I notice your rule is only set to fire on feature edits.

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Your YEAR field is a date field, but the Year function in Arcade returns a numeric value. In order to call something like Year(Now()) and get 2022 stored in your field, it needs to be a different type.