Arcade For Loop & Array

Jump to solution
08-02-2022 12:43 PM
ChristineSeidel
New Contributor III

Hi - I'm using ArcPro 3.0.0 and I'm new to Arcade.  Using Calculate Field, I trying to write a bit of Arcade code so it loops thru the values of existing field which has a string of concatenated values (i.e.  -99,1,2).  Where an item in this string does not equal -99, I want to append the value to a new array and then ultimately return the Mean of the NewArray.  So, given -99,1,2 the resulting Mean should = 1.5

So, I've tried the following code but it doesn't work.  It just returns Null values:

var NewArray = []
var OrigArray = split($feature.CONCATENATE_Story_Num, ",")
For (var i in OrigArray) {
  If (i!=-99) {
    NewArray+=OrigArray[i];
    }
}
return Mean(NewArray)

Thanks

2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

There are a few things to address with your expression, but you're most of the way there.

First, you're trying to append to the new array the wrong way. Using += works for numbers and strings, but an array needs to be appended to differently. In the latest versions of Arcade you have access to Push, which will insert an item into an array.

Also, if your original field is a string, you'll need to convert those to numbers.

And lastly, when you're looping over an array, you access the individual array items with array[index], not by calling the index directly, which is just an integer.

Try this:

var NewArray = []

for (var i in OrigArray) {
  If (Number(OrigArray[i]) != -99) {
    Push(NewArray, OrigArray[i]);
    }
}

return Mean(NewArray)

Here's my result running it against '-99,1,2':

jcarlson_0-1659470542914.png

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS

View solution in original post

KenBuja
MVP Esteemed Contributor

It turns out you don't need a Map function, just a minor modification to the Filter function

var arr = "-99,1,2";

function isGood(i) {i != "-99"}

var newarr = Filter(split(arr,","), isGood);