Arcade for complex line symbology

Jump to solution
03-15-2021 05:22 AM
Labels (2)
Anzhi
by
New Contributor II

Hello
I have a line feature class, in the attributes of which there is a field "Type", and "Thickness", I need to make a complex Symbology that unites these 2 fields.
It would seem an easy task, but the lines are constantly updated and the values in the "Thickness" field as well.
I need to make sure that the "Thickness" field is graded, such as from 0 - 2, 2.5-4, etc. and at the same time it was merged with the "Type" field as in the picture

Symbology.png

I am completely new to using Arcade, but I think that you can create an expression that will solve my problem

regards
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Yes, that's possible as well! However, in order to use an expression-based classification, you'll either need to lump all your evaluations (type and width together) into one expression, or the expression needs to be done via a property connection.

All in One

This is probably the route you want to go, since your numeric value is in discrete classes. We'll take the Type value and just append to it different text based on the width. Unless there's more going on than your screenshot implies, it looks like you just want the "type" field value, without any further evaluation, combined with a numeric classification.

Set the symbology to Unique Values and set the Field to an expression like the following:

var w = $feature.width
var width_str

// Here we define the width classification ranges
if(w < 0.8){
    width_str = ' up to 0.8'
} else if (w < 2) {
    width_str = ' between 0.8 and 2'
} else if ....

// and so on

return $feature.Type + width_str

Because the if/else if statements evaluate in order, there's no need to do a "w > N and w < M", as the "greater than" portion is accounted for in the preceding if statement.

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies