How about offering the ability to editing all fields in joined tables

02-19-2013 04:45 AM
Labels (1)
TimLangner
Occasional Contributor III
It would be great if it were possibly to edit tables which are joined together and I don't just mean a few of the comlumns but all of the columns.

Whilst it is possible to export a joined table, in doing so the original tables are not updated and if you do a show only matching records, you lose all the other data so not much help.

The point of showing only matched records is to enable one to filter out all the unrequired records and focus on just those which match. However this does not mean that you don't want the other records, just that at this precise time you wish to focus on a subset of records that match.

When I studied database theory I don't remember there being anything which said that editing joined tables was not good practise. I believe Oracle Spatial offers it. So I think it would be great if ArcMap did as well.

There is the relate command but the results do not appear in the same table.
10 Comments
TimLangner
There is actually a simple solution to this problem and that is to create a duplicate of the table you join to.

So

Table A joins Table B
Table B cannot be edited

So create a copy of Table C called Table B_original

Now join Table A to Table_B_original.

Next do a relate rfom Table A to Table B, making sure the original join from Table A to Table B doesn't exist any more.

Then when you can view Tables A and B together for the filtering and remove data from Table B.

The only flaw is the fact Table B_original will never get updated but that may not be considered important.
TimLangner
Sorry that should have read create a copy of Table B called Table B_original
JurajKrumpolec
Maybe Parallel Edit Sessions would help.
TimLangner
Thanks for the link duri. That would be useful but wouldn't help in this case.
RichardFairhurst