Updating Feature Layer through CSV?

Jump to solution
06-12-2017 12:30 PM
EricHung
New Contributor II

Hi there,

I'm completely new to ArcGIS online. I've currently set up some webmaps/storymaps from a webmap that has a hosted feature layer. This layer was created from a .csv file I made listing all the things such as address, city, name, etc. I used the geocoding based off of the address when creating the feature layer, selecting the city, address, and postal fields. 

What I want to be able to do is update the hosted feature layer with an updated csv file, which will then reflect in all web maps and applications using that layer. Unfortunately, there is not overwrite option since I am not using latitude and longitude, but address. I can make changes to the existing data in the feature layer from the data tab but I cannot add more rows, etc. I want to be able to just upload an updated csv file and overwrite the existing data. Any solutions other than changing it from address to long/lat (since it is much easier for my organization to use address/postal/city)?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
EricHung
New Contributor II

In the end, the solution I figured out was to simply delete the hosted feature layer and publish a new one from the csv with the same name. All my maps take from the new layer just fine. Unless there's a way for the feature layer to update without having to delete it and make a new one, I can live with this method!

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
EricHung
New Contributor II

Is there no solution?

0 Kudos
KellyGerrow
Esri Frequent Contributor

Hi Eric,

Are you adding additional fields or updating existing records? It seems like you are looking to append data to an existing data source.

-Kelly

0 Kudos
CarmelConnolly
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Eric,