How to prevent Layer Name from appearing beside polyline symbol during edit.

04-21-2022 10:06 AM
so_pec
by
New Contributor

I have a polyline layer template that I want to reused for various field maps because it has fields already set up.  When I rename the template layer to something meaningful to my client, the original layer name persists adjacent to the line symbol when the edit button is selected.  For example, I have a polyline layer named Polyline_Template.  I duplicate that and rename it to Water_Line. If I pick edit, for the Water_Line layer the symbol is _______ Polyline_Template.  I would rather have no text beside the symbol anyway.  I am an AGOL newbie, so please explain if this is wrong approach entirely. Thanks!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
3raan
by
New Contributor III

I would like to know a little bit more about the problem you are having. It could be as simple as the following. When you are in the details page for your "polyline layer template," select a layer under the "Layers" subtitle. From there, edit the layer name to what you want.

Alternatively, depending on how you duplicate layers, all of the duplicates may be using a singular definition file or shapefile. For example, I upload shapefiles and publish them as a feature layer. Frequently, I update the shapefile and publish again, overwriting the existing feature layer. I can also publish the shapefile as different feature layer with a new name. Now I have 2 feature layers with different names. However, they both are sourced from the single shapefile.

0 Kudos
so_pec
by
New Contributor

Thank you 3raan for your reply.  I went to the details page for each published layer clicked the view button near the URL to see the ID:## and surprise the ID's are the same and only the name changed so I think you are on to something.  This is an issue for us in 2 places: in Field Maps per below and on ArcGIS Online whenever you pick the edit button in the right pane.