Exported Selected Data Error

Jump to solution
05-21-2022 08:49 PM
Labels (1)
Cardan
by
New Contributor II

Novice GIS user. My apologies in advance for not using the right nomenclature. 

I am having issues with exporting selected data

Using Chelan County GIS 2 dataset found on ArcGIS online.

When I import the data to my ArcGIS (Using ArcMap 10.4), the file is quite large so I have been attempting to select specific areas in the parcel layer (e.g 500 parcels, all adjacent) 
I select the all the parcels I want to review and it highlights them as usual.  (however extremely slow compared to other parcel searches from different counties) 

I then do the Data-Export Data -and save the shapefile.

When I open up this new layer nothing shows up and the Attributes Table only shows headers.

What am I doing wrong?  Is it the data set or is there just a step I am missing?

My only experience is with downloaded shapefiles from county websites so this is my first attempt with data directly from ArcGIS Online.

Any feedback helps.  Thank you in advance. 
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
N_W_S_E
New Contributor III

Hi @Cardan,

My apologies for the inconvenience.

I have went ahead and looked into the dataset, I am assuming it is this one: https://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=71998dc59ecb444ab8dc6cd2bcf6a8fe

The reason why the dataset is incredibly slow is because you are dealing with a ArcGIS Rest Service; put simply, this data is hosted on a server and it needs to reload any time you pan, zoom, etc.

In regard to your issue, try this alternative:

1. Select the subset of the parcel data
  2. Right click on the layer in the table of contents and go to 'Selection' > 'Create Layer from Selected Features' 
    N_W_S_E_1-1653399997471.png
  3. In the search pane, search for 'Feature Class to Feature Class' N_W_S_E_0-1653399907765.png

Select Feature Class to Feature Class (conversion)