Fix Labeling Limitations for Vector Tiles

08-08-2016 10:12 AM
ChrisBardash
New Contributor II

Currently vbnewline or other similar label formatting options (Javascript or Python) for breaking labels over multiple lines is not supported in ArcGIS Online when creating vector tiles.  This functionality is very basic cartography and has been supported for many years in the desktop world.  At the very least, these sorts of shortfalls should have validation rules that let the user know this is not an option before publishing.

28 Comments
DavidColey

Yes I am just getting into vector tiles and spent a couple days designing my street reference map for image overlays.  Running into big problems with street centered labels not drawing at all at medium scales like 144K, 72K, 36K.  Could use some help!

Pauldos_Santos

Hi David

Have you had any success/feedback since posting? I am experiencing the same issue and it's hugely limiting.

KateLeroux1

There's a property in the style JSON called text-max-width that sets the number of characters allowed before line wrapping. Try setting that to a small number like 2 or 3 and your labels should wrap at spaces (most of the time). 

@David Coley: check the text-optional setting, and/or the text-ignore-placement setting (both allow collisions). 

I've spent the last few months getting a vector tile basemap in shape, and what comes out of Pro is not ready for primetime. You really need to tinker with the JSON to get it looking right. 

DavidColey

Thanks Kate for the json settings direction, I was beginning to suspect as much.  Yes clearly what comes out of Pro is not what you get.  We're also not using Portal at the moment and that's probably limiting as well (i.e AGOL is our portal until we go to  10.5).

In the meantime, I'm getting large areas that will not render on clients at all when panning / zooming and I'm guessing that's the labelling conflicts.