What are realistic global turn delays for fire engines?

01-20-2016 07:36 AM
DavidDenham
Occasional Contributor

I am new to Network analyst, and I am trying to determine what global turn variables I should use to estimate travel times for fire engines.  The delay times that I have seen on GeoNet seem to be somewhat low.  For example I would think that when you include the time that a fire engine needs to decelerate and accelerate for a right hand turn that the delay would be greater than 5 to 10 seconds.  Am I wrong about that and does anyone have a better idea for what global turn delays should be used?

0 Kudos
15 Replies
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

I don't know the answer, but let me add a group that has folks that may know:

911 GIS

Chris Donohue, GISP

0 Kudos
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

Take a look at my reply here: Good Settings for Global Turn Delay

I guess if you don't like what you find, you can always use what you think is best.  Right?!

Oh yeah, creating turn features really suck, no matter how you slice it.

That should just about do it....
DavidDenham
Occasional Contributor

I guess that I should have said that this is not for dispatch.  I received some requests to estimate service areas at 6 and 7 minutes out from the fire stations some time ago.  When I tried to calculate the areas using a network that my predecessor had used, the areas generated were too large.  When I looked at the network there were no global turn delays and I did not know if the default delays would be large enough to accurately model a fire engine or EMT vehicle.  I have looked around and I have found most of the articles that you mentioned in your other post, but no one seems to have an estimate for fire engines traveling on a fairly flat terrain.

0 Kudos
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

Without knowing what you predecessor did, I can't make a guess. And who  is saying they are too large? And what is that comment based on?