Vehicle Routing Problem - Too many orders?

Jump to solution
01-27-2013 04:56 AM
TracyScopel
New Contributor II
Hi,

I'm trying to use the Vehicle Routing Problem Solver to calculate 4 routes for trash pickup. There are nearly 2,800 orders. Is this too many for Network Analyst to process? I ran the solver around 12 hours ago and the progress bar says it's at 66 percent - where it's been for at least 2 hours. I am new to this extension and I have no idea whether it can handle this many orders but takes a really long time, or if my computer's processor can't handle it, or if something else is going on. Thanks for any insight!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AlexeyTereshenkov
Regular Contributor III
Trace, this should be absolutely possible to solve with Network Analyst. Working on an older machine I had, I was able to get several hundreds routes with roughly 5,000 orders solved. It is very important to have 64bit OS though. I am using ArcGIS 10.1.

Of course having so many orders would have a significant impact on the scalability of the solver. So if you want to solve a problem with such a large number of orders, please consider do this. Instead of feeding all the 4 routes into the VRP solver at once, you might try use just 2 of them in the solver at once. After that, you can solve the orders that were left unassigned by using the other 2 routes - in the second solve. Naturally, you would get a more viable solution than if you'd divide the number of orders in half and then run the solve by using two separate problems.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
BenKeller2
New Contributor II
I have only done a couple hundred before not thousands. I am sure it can handle it, but like you said; very time consuming.
0 Kudos
AlexeyTereshenkov
Regular Contributor III