Network analysis problem

03-31-2011 08:19 AM
JörgenFidjeland
New Contributor
Hi!

I'm trying to use the "New route" tool in ArcGIS, but it doesn't work. The error message says
"Warning: No route from location "Graphic Pick 1" to location "Graphic Pick 2".
Error: No solution found.", which is not very informative. I have no idea where I should start troubleshooting.

My network dataset is based on a shapefile from OSM data from haiti.

I'm new to network analysis, so it might be a really silly mistake I've done.. Thanks for all help!

Jörgen
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
17 Replies
AlejandroMata
New Contributor
Hi Jorgen !

The problem that you have can be cause your shapefile (lines) is not correctly connected, at least between the two points that you have. I mean, maybe there is a broken line between the two points y for that reason it says that " Route nor found "

First try to locate two points in a place where you know that the line is not broken to verify that your shapefile it´s ok.

Greetings !
0 Kudos
JörgenFidjeland
New Contributor
Thanks for the input

I tried this, and sometimes it works (for shorter distances), but mostly the routefinder says there is no possible route even though the points are obviously connected. This is a city, so in many cases there should be plenty of possible routes, but the routefinder says there is none.

For some of the paths, I've noticed that there is no junctions where to lines are crossing, this can be the reason for a few of the incidents, but even in that case, it should be able to make another route around.

Is it possible that the lines are not connected even though they share a junction? I'm confused.

I've uploaded my shapefiles and analysis dataset to here if someone wants to check out. The source of data is openstreetmap.
0 Kudos
DougSterling
Esri Contributor
I've uploaded my shapefiles and analysis dataset to here if someone wants to check out. The source of data is openstreetmap.