Exporting Adjacency or Edge Connection Matrix

08-26-2013 09:38 AM
PeteWillette
New Contributor
Hello,

I am fairly new to ArcGIS and am looking to obtain some network connectivity data in the form of an adjacency matrix or edge connection matrix with specific focus on a network of roads. I know that ArcGIS utilizes this data somewhere, but I would like to be able to have this matrix be exported to either an excel or text document. I have run the Network Analyst Tool and obtained a network with all of the junctions and edges but am not able to extract this information from ArcGIS. I have found what seems like a viable solution in Visual Basic (http://forums.esri.com/thread.asp?c=93&f=1944&t=186348). However, I am unable to execute the code due to my lack of knowledge in that language and the difficulty in setting up VB with ArcGIS 10. My knowledge in Python is limited as well. Python seems to be a little bit more straight forward to utilize with GIS, so  I was wondering if someone might be able to assist me in creating a Phython script that could obtain this connectivity matrix?

I thank you ahead of time for any advice or resources that you might point me toward in the future.

Best Wishes,

Pete
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
10 Replies
IvarBaldvinsson
New Contributor
Hello

I'm in similar position as Pete and also an ArcGIS newbie. I am considering generating district heating network using the network analyst tool, connecting each building. The network basically consists of nodes (or sinks) for buildings and edges (network pipeline) connecting the nodes. I want to extract information about interconnection of nodes, network length between nodes and floor area of buildings (nodes) to use in matrices for network design and operation in matlab.
I would like to know if it's possible to generate a connectivity or adjacency matrix or graph containing the nodes and interconnecting edges that I can export from ArcGIS?