Select to view content in your preferred language

Metrics and Alerts on Shared Instances

Jump to solution
03-17-2023 09:15 AM
NickN
by
Occasional Contributor

I'm new to Monitor and recently deployed the new version to our production environment shortly after release. I'm curious what best practice is, or what others are doing for services that are on the shared instance pool.

It seems whenever one of these services is queried the "Instances Saturation Percent" metric goes to 100% and by default that triggers an alert.

Do most people disable alerting on these, or is there some other way I should be handling these?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
NickN
by
Occasional Contributor

Yeah that definitely looks like the issue. I created a new service and configured it to the shared pool in the Share Web Layer pane in Pro and that graph looks like what I would expect:

NickN_0-1679427128846.png

I also noticed in the Overview screen in the Specifications section the new service it shows 8 in the Instance Limits section:

NickN_1-1679427187772.png

While all the older services that were switched from dedicated to shared have the Instance Limits blanked out:

NickN_2-1679427248219.png

And it's only those one's that are blanked out like that where the saturation graph bounces from 0 to 100%. So that got me thinking.

I switched the service back to Dedicated in ArcGIS Server Manager. Waited for the item in ArcGIS Monitor to indicate Dedicated again, then republished it and specified Shared in Pro. Then when Monitor refreshed it showed Shared with Min 8, Max 8 in the specs box as well as showing the correct saturation percent...so there's a work-around to fix it 🙂

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction, @MKR 

View solution in original post

12 Replies
GeoJosh
Esri Regular Contributor

Hello,