Select to view content in your preferred language

New to scripting - Need help with a basic script with functions

Jump to solution
02-26-2014 05:43 AM
SuzanneRoussie
Emerging Contributor
Hi,

I am in the process of putting together a basic map by learning off the tutorials and examples found on the JavaScript examples site and I am trying to use a home button, legend, and scale on the same map.  I had the home button and scale working but when I added the script for the legend it stopped working.  I was wondering if there was a limit on how many functions could be called the way I have it set up or if I am missing something else. I am sure there is a different way to do this but since I have never written anything in JavaScript before I thought this was the best way to learn. I have enclosed the text file of my code.

thanks,
Sue
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
KenBuja
MVP Esteemed Contributor
You have a typo

"esri/map", "esri/layers/FeatureLayer", "esri/dijit/Legend",       "esri/digit/Scalebar","esri/dijit/HomeButton",       "dojo/_base/array", "dojo/parser",       "dijit/layout/BorderContainer", "dijit/layout/ContentPane",        "dijit/layout/AccordionContainer", "dojo/domReady!"

That should be  "esri/dijit/Scalebar"

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
15 Replies
KenBuja
MVP Esteemed Contributor
You have a typo

"esri/map", "esri/layers/FeatureLayer", "esri/dijit/Legend",       "esri/digit/Scalebar","esri/dijit/HomeButton",       "dojo/_base/array", "dojo/parser",       "dijit/layout/BorderContainer", "dijit/layout/ContentPane",        "dijit/layout/AccordionContainer", "dojo/domReady!"

That should be  "esri/dijit/Scalebar"
0 Kudos
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor
You are also missing a '{' in the style tag for the #map DIV.  Also, if you want the legend to display the layers, you will need to change your extent to where they are visible.  Ex:

map = new Map("map", {
        basemap:"streets",
        center: [-96.509, 38.367],