Select to view content in your preferred language

Converting Json Data to Feature Layer

07-06-2017 02:08 PM
AntonAntonenko
Deactivated User

Hello everyone! 

I'm new to Javascript API, but its mostly straight forward with the documentation, however I'm having trouble converting JSON data to a Feature Layer. Now I referred to the reference documents but it seems like I'm missing something. 

So the idea is we creating our own API on the web server, and fetching the data when needed (of course in JSON format), like this:

{ id: 1, Company Name: "1670143 Ontario Inc.",

# of Local Employees: 2.5,

Address: "204LebretonStreetNorth Ottawa,OntarioK1R7J1 Canada",

Business Description: "We bring the Internet of All Things to a meaningful conclusion...right in the palm of your hand.", Company Age: "years", Industry: "Software, Cloud and SaaS", Phone: "(613)878-1135"

},

{ id: 2, Company Name: "2CI Technologies Inc",

# of Local Employees: 2.5,

Address: "1678Canemorecrescent Ottawa,OntarioK4A1S8 Canada",

Business Description: "Health and wellness IT development",

Company Age: "20 years",

Industry: "IT Consultants and Software Services", Phone: "(613)834-8144"

},

now when im trying to convert the JSON Object with:

var flRenderer = rendererJsonUtils.fromJSON(json_object);

i get null

Did anybody stumbled upon this issue before? 

P.S.

Im working version 4.4 of the API. 

0 Kudos
9 Replies
JordanKing3
Regular Contributor

Hey Anton,

This is a pretty broad question. Firstly, to create a Feature Layer, you first need to create a list of Graphic Objects, which the Feature Layer expects, e.g.:

[{

geometry: new Point({ x: -100, y: 38 }),

attributes: { ObjectID: 1, DepArpt: "KATL", MsgTime: Date.now(), FltId: "UAL1" }

},

{

geometry: new Point({ x: -77, y: 35 }),

attributes: { ObjectID: 2, DepArpt: "KZBW", MsgTime: Date.now(), FltId: "SW999" }

}]

Each feature will need to be a Graphic object (the attributes above are just examples).