Select to view content in your preferred language

"json is undefined"

08-21-2012 09:54 AM
KevinPerry1
New Contributor
I'm a long-time programmer, but new to using the ArcGIS API.  We are attempting to implement a website based on the Kurogo framework, an open source webapp framework that includes a mapping module which interfaces with ArcGIS map services.  Very cool.  They provide a demo which uses a nice map of Boston, and the demo runs on our server just fine.  When we attempt to re-configure it to use a locally-created map, though, it blows up in the ArcGIS JSAPI code, with "TypeError: json is undefined".  The stack trace from FireBug (below) is not very helpful, considering that lines 14 and 48 of the JSAPI v=2.4compact code are each a huge mass of unreadably compressed JS.

Obviously, I'll be posting a question on the Kurogo forum shortly as well, but I was wondering whether anyone here has useful guidance on how one is supposed to debug such problems buried deep in the JSAPI code?  Or - hoping for a miracle - perhaps a suggestion about exactly what is wrong in this particular case.  Thanks.

Stack trace:

TypeError: json is undefined
()?v=2.4compact (line 48)
()?v=2.4compact (line 14)
_144()?v=2.4compact (line 14)
_142()?v=2.4compact (line 14)
_144()?v=2.4compact (line 14)
_142()?v=2.4compact (line 14)
0 Kudos
16 Replies
derekswingley1
Deactivated User
I agree that is one approach, depends how easy/quick it is for the OP to snap off just the bit that's causing issues, always worth having other approaches.  To return that one dojo uncompressed file (for many people) means changing one line in the handler that returns it, IMO that's not a hardship.

Not everyone is aware of all the options.