Customize information lookup template

02-10-2015 11:49 AM
KendellRyan
Occasional Contributor

I have been using the Information look up template (hosted). I now have a need to change the geocoder for the app and have it different than the geocoder we default to in our AGOLO site.  I downloaded the files for the lookup template from github.  I have it working locally with my map, However I cannot seem to get it to pick up on my geocoder.  I tried changing the URL in the commonConfig.js and/or in the default.js (the section with helper services).  However there is something else going on beyond there that I am missing.  I'd appreciate any suggestions. I am a novice with javascript but I've gotten some of the other templates customized and working.

0 Kudos
14 Replies
KellyHutchins
Esri Frequent Contributor

Can you zip up your customized version of the app and attach it to this thread? This might help us see what's going wrong.

0 Kudos
KendellRyan
Occasional Contributor

Sure. Can I email the zipped folder to you?

0 Kudos
KellyHutchins

Sure send it to khutchins@esri.com

0 Kudos
MikeMillerGIS

Kendell,

The app uses the settings in your ArcGIS Online to get a list of locators.  If you do not want to add your locator to the org and have the app only use one locator, you can change the _getGeocoders function in the search.js javascript function.  You will want to only return your locator in the defaultSources variable.

Basically you want the function to do this:

geocoder.locator = new Locator(<YourURL);

defaultSources.push(geocoder);

geocoder.placeholder = this.i18n.geocoder.defaultText;

Edit:  The above is untested

0 Kudos
KendellRyan
Occasional Contributor

Yes, we want a different locator for this app than the ones we have set in our AGOLO site.  That makes sense that it's reverting to our organizational settings, but unfortunate that it's not a simple change (for a non js programmer).