Export features to Excel

09-12-2023 04:27 AM
MariusVerdes
New Contributor III

Hi everyone,

I'm new to using ArcGIS for Power Automate and I'm wondering if it's possible to automatically export every feature that is added or edited in an Incident Reporting layer to an Excel spreadsheet in SharePoint.

I know there's a connector for ArcGIS Enterprise in Power Automate, but I couldn't find any triggers to export data to Excel.

I'm using ArcGIS Enterprise 11.1 and we have a Microsoft 365 E5 license.

Does anyone know if this is possible?

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
chaman1
New Contributor

Stakeholders requested a dashboard (because DE and DA are the same thing, am I right?), and the last feature they requested was an export to excel so they could build the same charts locally

0 Kudos
AdamAraza
New Contributor II

Hi MariusVerdes, this is definitely possible. Are you trying to make a living Excel document in a shared location that your users have access to, or are you sending a new Excel sheet for every record that is added/updated?

With both options, I do find it easier to store data in a SharePoint List first then give the users access to the List or write in your Flow to export the list to a CSV. 

If you want features added or updated on your spreadsheet instantly, you may want to make two flows, one with a trigger for "when a feature is updated" and one for "when a feature is added".

Another option would be to create a script using the ArcGIS API for Python and set it on a task scheduler. This wouldn't be triggered when records are added or updated, but if you set the time interval to a reasonable schedule, your users may not even notice.  Here's an example of some code:

import arcpy
from arcgis.gis import GIS
import pandas as pd
csv = 'file location of end product'

#Your enterprise credentials
portal = GIS(url="YourEnterpiseURL", username="yourUsername", password="yourPassword")

#access the layer
url = 'the layer you are querying'