Select to view content in your preferred language

Url parameters in widgets

Jump to solution
12-06-2023 03:58 AM
ErsiLover
New Contributor III

I'm new to experience builder and I'm building a new project my question would be is it possible to create custom widget in experience builder that can read and fetch url parameters and then filter based on those parameters?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TimWestern
Occasional Contributor

As it happens I've been working on a widget that does the first part of this pretty easily. I don't know what kind of source you might be using, but consider a method like this:

const getServiceUrl = (dataSourceId): Promise<string> => {
        return new Promise((resolve) => {
            const checkDataSourceManager = () => {
                const dataSourceManager = DataSourceManager.getInstance();

if(dataSourceManager) {
                    const dataSourceArray = dataSourceManager.getDataSourcesAsArray();
                    const selectedDataSource = dataSourceArray.find(ds => ds.id === dataSourceId);
                    //const dataSrcJson = dataSourceManager.getDataSource(dataSourceId).getDataSourceJson();
                    const dataSrcJson = selectedDataSource.getDataSourceJson();
                    const dataSourceURL = dataSrcJson?.url + queryString;
                    resolve(dataSourceURL);
                } else {
                    setTimeout(checkDataSourceManager, 100); // Check again after a short delay
                }
            };

checkDataSourceManager();
        });
    };

• This uses a dataSourceID that is already added in the Data section
  • That dataSourceID is then used to find the specific source in the array returned from getDatSourcesAsArray.