08-05-2015 01:48 AM
MajdoleenO_A__Awadallah
Occasional Contributor III
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Having it checked or not should effect you services.​  On the client side, if they are allowed to cache locally, the first time they "visit" a location/scale that displays your cache tiles, it may be a little slower for them since it will copy the tiles to their local machine.  Next time they go to the same area, it will be much faster for them since it is on their local machine.

I would guess, in theory, that since they do not need to retrieve the tiles from your service again, this could potentionally put less activity on your service (but I'm not an expert on that).

For imagery that doesn't change, caching locally works great. But keep in mind that if you have data that changes often but is cached and allows them to cache locally, they may not get the new, updated tiles.  (And of course, if the service is dynamic, this isn't an issue)

edit: sorry, that should have said, "should not effect your services"

View solution in original post

12 Replies
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Hi Majdoleen,

ArcGIS Help 10.1

Allow clients to cache tiles locally

When this box is checked, Esri client applications, such as ArcMap, are allowed to keep a local cache of any tiles they retrieve from the server. This can help the client view the tiles more quickly when returning to the area. Clients must manually clear their cache to get any newer tiles from the server; therefore, consider unchecking this box if you'll be updating your cache frequently.

Think Location
MajdoleenO_A__Awadallah

Hi Jayanta,

I've read this help, but actually couldn't understand the effect if we unchecked the tick, Does it affect the orthophoto services, or the feature services.

Have you tried it??

it is come by default checked.

Best,

Majdoleen

0 Kudos
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus