Sharing Services

Jump to solution
06-19-2019 02:50 PM
ToddFagin
Occasional Contributor II

I am fairly new to ArcGIS Server and am a bit confused about sharing settings. I have my server linked to my organizations ArcGIS Online portal (we are currently not using a federated server with our own portal). After doing so, I set the sharing on a particular service to a specific group I had previously created. However, after doing so, I was still able to access the service URL without being logged in. I wish to be able to restrict this type of access because we will have some services were share widely, others we won't. And once a user has one service URL, they can easily access other services.

I am rather certain I did something wrong, so any pointers in the correct direction would be greatly appreciated.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DerekLaw
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Todd,

> I have my server linked to my organizations ArcGIS Online portal ...

What do you mean by "linked"? Can you please elaborate? Perhaps you meant you've registered some web services from your Server site with your ArcGIS Online organization? In which case, when you register your web service (e.g., by adding it as a new item), you create a web layer for that service.

> After doing so, I set the sharing on a particular service to a specific group I had previously created. However, after doing so, I was still able to access the service URL without being logged in.

I suspect you set the sharing property on the web layer and not the web service. So the web layer is secured, but the web service would still follow the security settings of your Server site.

> I wish to be able to restrict this type of access because we will have some services were share widely, others we won't.

You can enable this security behavior, but you'll need to enable security for the web service at the Server site tier.
Some resources:

Hope this helps,

View solution in original post

4 Replies
DerekLaw