Old GIS dude left. Now I need to pick up the pieces...

04-13-2015 12:08 PM
coleblair
New Contributor III

When I came to my present company, someone had set up Arc Server 10.0 Service Pack 2, SQL Server, Geocortex 3.9. I have been asked to pick up the pieces and fix the problems and expand. As of now our online maps don't work.

My Experience: I’m an established Geo-Tech in the petroleum industry. I am new to ArcGIS but I’m familiar with learning and using new software. Petra, Global Mapper, Photoshop, Illistrator, etc... Also I used to make HTML 4 websites like 13years ago.

Questions: Should I try and get the old map services up and running first? Or Should I just upgrade everything and start from scratch (ArcGIS Server 10.3/Geocortex 4.0)?

I understand that taking on this job means it’s going to be a lot of work on my part. Especially having to handle the ArcGIS Administrator side as well as Mapping and my Geo-Tech duties. I was trying to reach out and see if anyone has experience, that they could share or help direct me on the route to take. Hopefully make the process less painful.

Message was edited by: Asrujit SenGupta

Tags (1)
6 Replies
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Cole.

Since upgrading to ArcGIS Server 10.3 would require you to re-publish your ArcGIS Server 10.0 services, I would recommend upgrading first.  You can then publish your data to ArcGIS Server 10.3 and reconfigure you web map applications with the new services.

DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Unless this company is not Old Dude friendly, I think this is a duplicate post of this thread... Old Dudes beware

coleblair
New Contributor III

Thx Jake

Im gonna take your advice.

0 Kudos
AaronKreag
Occasional Contributor