Label script help- excluding one record from labeling

Jump to solution
12-18-2012 11:45 AM
KelleeRoberts
New Contributor
Hello-

I'm fairly new to mainpulating the label expressions in ArcMap. I am not sure how to exclude some records from displaying. For example there are 20 cities on my map, but I'd like to exclude 2 from labeling on my map. I want to be able to still see the point where they are...but not the text. I also would prefer not to make a new shapefile, column, or create a layer based on selection. Any ideas on the expression that could be written? I'd prefer VB, but open to jscript too.
I'm using ArcMap 10 and Maplex. The field I'm using is called "POI_NAME"

Thanks!
Tags (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MatthewPatterson
Esri Contributor
Hello,

You could modify this sample expression, make sure to hit the advanced box and paste this in.  You will need to change City1 and City2 to the values of the cities you want to exude.

Function FindLabel ([POI_NAME])
If [POI_NAME] = "City1" or [POI_NAME] = "City2" then
          FindLabel = ""
Else
          FindLabel = [POI_NAME]
End if
End Function

The code isn't pasting properly, but make sure that you tab in right before each instance of FindLabel.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
MatthewPatterson
Esri Contributor
Hello,

You could modify this sample expression, make sure to hit the advanced box and paste this in.  You will need to change City1 and City2 to the values of the cities you want to exude.

Function FindLabel ([POI_NAME])
If [POI_NAME] = "City1" or [POI_NAME] = "City2" then
          FindLabel = ""
Else
          FindLabel = [POI_NAME]
End if
End Function

The code isn't pasting properly, but make sure that you tab in right before each instance of FindLabel.
KelleeRoberts
New Contributor