How to rotate a map ? (ArcMap 10.1)

Jump to solution
02-13-2013 08:07 AM
DiederikD_Hert
New Contributor
Hello

I am afraid I need some help. I am a complete newbee, and right now I am stuck.

What do I want ? A map of the Southern Hemisfere (South Pole Orthographic projection), but with another meridean pointing to the north (not the Greenwich), for instance the 15°W.

What have I done/tried already ?
I started from the basemap_continents file. I used project 'Data Managment' to make a South Pole Orthographic transformation. I made a layer file from it. When I open that new .lyr file in an new ArcMap Document, I see the Southern Hemisfere with Antarctica in the Middle, but the Greenwich Meridean is pointing to the North.
I then tried to change several things while making the transformation (false easting, northing, longitude/latitude of center) but that doesn't gave me the desired result. I read I should try to change the Prime Meridean, but it doesn't affect anything at all (unless I do it in a wrong way). The Geographic Coordinate system should stay GCS_WGS_1984 (because otherwise other data will not be projected correctly).

Can anybody tell me how I can get the desired result (step by step, because I am a complete newbee) or help me create such a layer (but I would prefer telling me how to do it, so I can do it for myself in future).

Thanks for any help.

Diederik
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MelitaKennedy
Esri Notable Contributor
Hi Diederik,

I think you should choose one of the existing Antarctica-based projected coordinate systems. As an example, I'll use UPS South. The definition is located in projected coordinate system, polar.

In ArcMap, open data frame properties (right click in the map and select properties from the context menu OR right click Layers in the table of contents and select properties).

Select the Coordinate System tab.

If using 10.1,