Help: Calculate the shortest FLYING route to fly a list of coordinates

01-24-2013 12:06 PM
NilsN
by
New Contributor
Hi all
I'm new to this, and I have a problem I need to solve, and would love to get some help.

I have a spread sheet listing a big number of locations (coordinates). I want to find a simple way to add all locations to a map (that part I know how to do) and then have the software to calculate the shortest FLYING route to fly all to all this locations. It???s like a Traveling Salesman Problem. It need to be straight lines ???as a bird fly???, passing all locations in the best order so total distance is the shortest. I would like it to calculate and present the distance between each leg, and total distance as well.

All route solutions I have found so fare is for finding the best route in a road systems, that don't help me :U
I would really appreciate some help 🙂 And again, I???m new to this so please keep it simple 🙂
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
JonathanQuinn
Esri Notable Contributor
Use the Points to Line tool to generate lines between the points.  Use a sort field to order the lines as they're created.  You can then create a field and use the Calculate Geometry function to calculate the length of all line features.
0 Kudos
NilsN
by
New Contributor
Thanks for that reply. I'm really new to this, so it took  me a while to even get a line beetween the points. But I have mangened to do that now. But the sorting I do not know how to fix.

I want it to calculate the order of point that generate the shortest total distance. The sorting in point to line don't allow for that.
Any help with that part?

Thanks
0 Kudos
TrishRice
Occasional Contributor III