SUPRISE! Here's an AWS ArcGIS Enterprise deployment!

Jump to solution
04-12-2021 06:30 AM
Labels (1)
AdamRepsher_BentEar
Occasional Contributor

Hello All,

I am new to cloud deployment (on AWS or anywhere) and have a Single-machine base ArcGIS Enterprise deployment that was already running when I arrived on the scene.  I do not have access to the person who created the deployment and only have access to the machine instance itself, through RDP.   I am used to having VMs set up already and then deploying Enterprise in what I think is referred to as an "on-premise" install - I download the executables and run them on the VM or multiple VMs.

After hours of reading documentation like AWS CloudFormation and ArcGIS and Simplify deployments with ArcGIS Enterprise Cloud Builder for AWS and a little email history, I believe that this machine was deployed via launching a CloudFormation stack from the AWS Management Console.  Not sure though.

The problem:  Where to start.

• Nothing is running.  Services for AGServer and Portal are stopped.
  • Found other services such as the GeoEvent Server components (do these get deployed in every instance by default?) but also not started.
  • IIS is not running.

I started from what I thought was logical:

1. I began by starting IIS (had to start WAS service).
    1. Noticed that there is no secure binding (HTTPS) set up in IIS.
    2. Both "portal" and "server" are set up in the Default Web Site.
  2. There is an "arcgis" Local User account already set up.  Need to get that password.
  3. When browsing to http://localhost/portal (or the same with the IP address) - the Web Adaptor setup appears (http://localhost/portal/webadaptor).
  4. When I try to go to https://privateIPaddress:7443/arcgis - I am taken to https://privateIPaddress:7443/arcgis/home/createadmin.html and asked if I want to "Create a New Portal" or "Join Existing Portal".