Dashboard indicator arcade script

Jump to solution
08-19-2021 06:33 AM
AdrianPatrulescu
New Contributor III

Hi,

I am new to arcade scripts

I want to select unique values from two columns and sum one of them

If I go to edit Dashboard + indicator and press new data expression the following script works:

var features = FeatureSetByPortalItem( Portal('https://www.arcgis.com'), '98cca0ba2d58470b96061faa24421e66', 0, ['ID_FCC', 'RestorationArea','RestorationType'], false );
var filterFeatures = Filter(features, "RestorationType <> 'Riparian'");
var distinctFeatures = Distinct(filterFeatures,['ID_FCC','RestorationArea']);
Sum(distinctFeatures, 'RestorationArea')

If I press done the Data expressions shows: ! Unable to execute Arcade script

Is there another way to implement distinct filter to an indicator?

thank you

best regards

Adrian

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

As @KenBuja points out, you need to get your results into a FeatureSet. This gives you two options:

Populate an Empty FeatureSet

Following the linked example from Ken's post, or similar examples on GitHub, you need to create a dict object and then use that Sum(...) value to populate an attribute there.

var fs_dict = {
    fields: [{name: 'Sum', 'type':'esriFieldTypeDouble'}],
    geometryType: '',
    features: [{attributes: {'Sum': 0}}]
}

fs_dict['features'][0]['attributes']['Sum'] = Sum(distinctFeatures, 'RestorationArea')

return FeatureSet(Text(fs_dict))

But honestly, that's way more work than it's worth. There's a simpler way.

Use the Indicator's Built-In Aggregation

Using the same expression you've shared in your post, simply omit the Sum and instead return the distinctFeatures FeatureSet. Then on the indicator settings, set the Value Type to Statistic, set Statistic to Sum and select the field you want to sum.

jcarlson_0-1629384608014.png

GroupBy?