can the dashboard access external data in a SQL table/view

02-05-2016 11:33 AM
MikeHargreaves
New Contributor III

I'm new to dashboard, and was thinking it would be a nice tool to display various stats from our Accela permitting system.  Can I access the SQL table directly, or do I first need to make a service out of it?

0 Kudos
8 Replies
JoeHershman
MVP Regular Contributor

Yes that would be nice.  Unfortunately, as far as I have ever been able to figure out it is not possible.  I think for Portal to reach its potential this is a necessity. 

Thanks,
-Joe
0 Kudos
MikeHargreaves
New Contributor III

Thanks Joe.  In the What's New section:

Operations Dashboard for ArcGIS | ArcGIS

t shows a matrix for Online and Portal, and it says the current version is supposed to have "Support for stand-alone tables as data sources" with the caveat that it is "Currently (only available) as external data sources"

But when I look at the help for external data sources, it seems to only discuss ArcGIS Services...

Can you create a service from a table if there is location info?  What is no location info?

0 Kudos
ChristopherOlsen
Occasional Contributor III

Mike-

In order for you to use the table as a data source in Ops Dashboard, it has to be accessible through the service, i.e., through the REST endpoint as a table.  For example, the following service has a feature class and a table available that you could use as data sources:

http://services.arcgis.com/c3gjVStQJSOiRJaj/ArcGIS/rest/services/TestRelationshipsForPro/FeatureServ...

The other caveat with using a table is that it has to have an OID field in order to be brought in as a data source. This help topic has more information on external data sources.

Thanks,

Chris

0 Kudos
MikeHargreaves
New Contributor III