split command for a desk

07-29-2013 06:53 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: Patrickhall111

Hello 
I just recently downloaded this software to try and create a floor plan model of our building in hope of drumming up new business utilizing CityEngine. Im new to programming so please forgive my ignorance. I have created a floor plan and assigned a few rules to interior walls,exterior,...ect. I am running into problems when trying to create desk in each cubical. Below is a screen shot of what i have and what I am trying to do.  Below I have a static shape of what I am trying to do, and since I have over 100 cubical I would like to do this by code rather than manually do each shape, however all my attempts at splitting this shape have failed. Any help would be appreciated.[ATTACH=CONFIG]26278[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]26279[/ATTACH]
0 Kudos
9 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: obrjo181

Prehaps you could play around with splits to generate your model, this sort of thing would work for a square shape:

attr frontLWidth = 1
 attr leftLWidth = 1
 attr deskHeight = 1
@StartRule
Lot --> alignScopeToAxes(y)
  shapeL(frontLWidth,leftLWidth) {shape: Desk | remainder: NIL}
Desk--> extrude(deskHeight)X
X--> split(y){~1 : A | 0.2 : C}
A--> split(z){~1: B | 0.2 : C}
B--> split(x){0.5 : C | ~1 : NIL}
C--> color("#ff6666")

hope it gives you some ideas anyway
0 Kudos
PatrickHall1
New Contributor
Thank you
This helps me alot, will post pictures when done.
0 Kudos
PatrickHall1
New Contributor
I actually have one more question if its not to much trouble.  I have a normal square desk that needs the center indented for leg room. Right now I have both sides of the desk split and the top  split. My problem is this is for all sides of the desk,how separate the split to just one side of the square?
0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable