You need to be signed in to use spatial analysis. Error Message. Please Help.

11-27-2019 09:56 AM
AndrewMaloney
New Contributor

I am a college student who is studying the ArcGis platform independently.  I recently started the ArcGis Pro free trial and have been playing around with the features.  I have been practicing with the Python API and have been following this notebook sample:

Analysing the factors of growth and spatial distribution of Airbnb properties across New York City |... 

I have run into an error I do not understand.  Here is a screenshot:

It says I need to be signed in to use spatial analysis?  I have authorized my account to use the spatial analysis extension but that does not seem to do anything.  I have followed the code in the example notebook up to this point.  The only thing I had to do differently was to create my own map layers and upload them.  I am signed into my GIS account using the GIS() function as well.    Does anyone know what is going on?

0 Kudos
1 Reply
Jeong_HoonKim
New Contributor II

Probably it is too late, but I would like to write down the solution for the future reference.

Today I also faced this error, and I could solve this issue by checking the following two steps.

1) Log-in to your account one more time after restart kernel

After restart kernel in the jupyter notebook, please re-login to your ArcGIS Online account.

gis = GIS("https://www.arcgis.com", "your_id", "your_password")

2) Check your layers try to use spatial analysis extension

I could find that the following link mentioning about this issue.

https://github.com/danioxoli/HotSpotAnalysis_Plugin/issues/36#issuecomment-509184014

"Try with your own data that must be a PROJECTED Shapefile (points or polygons) with at least a numeric attribute field with no missing data. The download procedure of demo data may corrupt the file and that's why it is not properly read by the plugin."