Writing python scripts

07-14-2017 02:20 PM
ShahriarFerdous
New Contributor

i'm new in arc gis. i would like to get proper direction to advance in writing python scripts for different analysis tools. it would be great honour to get a path from the very beginning. thank you

0 Kudos
3 Replies
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Hi Shahriar Ferdous ,

welcome to the world of ArcGIS and Python.  There is a tremendous amount of information you can find in the Help documents What is geoprocessing?—Help | ArcGIS Desktop  and many of the tools will include syntax for using the commands in Python.

I would like to mention that there are differences between writing a python script using arcpy and other Python modules, vs the newer ArcGIS API for Python, which is the group you posted this in. The API for Python uses Jupyter notebooks and a has a few steps for installation and can be used for administering AGOL, popping up a quick map and doing some analysis.  It can be thought of as working more with Pro because of the Python version and installation, but is also somewhat of a standalone platform.  You can find out more about that at https://developers.esri.com/python 

i wanted to point out that they are different so it may help when you get other responses to you post.  It may help to clarify which you are trying to learn.

Assuming you are just trying to write scripts, etc. Dan Patterson‌  has great blogs wi many resources and it's worth book marking /blogs/dan_patterson/2016/05/09/the-links?sr=search&searchId=e9e4f51a-1066-424e-ac70-fa20765a9136&se...

There are also many thread on gelling (which the above blog might have links to already) that have learning resources and suggestions.  Many of these might end up being reappearing here, but worth sing what has already been posted.

as far as how to get started?