Using a query result in another query

Jump to solution
04-22-2020 09:46 PM
KerryKang
Occasional Contributor III

Hello all,

I am a GIS analyst and very new to Python API. I hope to get some advice on creating syntax.

Here is my scenario. 

1. get the record count in feature layer. this will be used to grab the record with max object id. (the very last object id will be matched with row count always).

query_result1 = workingLayer.query(return_count_only=True)

query_result1

2. Using the result from #1 in another query. 'where' part is where I am having an issue with. I am not sure how I can use the result from #1 with the where syntax.

query_result2 = workingLayer.query(where = ,  out_fields='Region, Date')

I've tried with what I used to with arcpy...something like this. But not working. 

whereClause = "'ObjectId=" + str(query_result1) + "'"

query_result2 = workingLayer.query(where = whereClause,  out_fields='Region, Date')

Cheers,

K

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
WillHouston
New Contributor III

whereClause = "'ObjectId=" + str(query_result1) + "'"

This looks to me like your resulting where clause would be

'ObjectId=49'

Try it without the single quotes:

whereClause = "ObjectId=" + str(query_result1)

In general I prefer the string format so I can better see the final string, but the result should be the same:

whereClause = "ObjectId = {0}".format(query_result1)

Also depending on your database management system, the case of "ObjectId" ("OBJECTID") might matter.