Updating Feature Service Coded Value Domain with ArcGIS API for Python

Jump to solution
03-24-2018 03:32 PM
James_Whitacre
Occasional Contributor

I am trying to update an attribute coded value domain using the ArcGIS API for Python using the Update Servcie Definition method. I am an admin for my AGO org.

Here is my code so far (if you are testing it, you will need to used your own parameters):

import arcgis

username = 'username'

gis = arcgis.gis.GIS('https://www.arcgis.com', username)

url = 'https://domain.com/arcgis/rest/services/Service_name/FeatureServer/0'

field_name = 'Field_Name'

cv_code = 1

cv_name = 'Code Name'

fs = arcgis.features.FeatureLayer(url, gis)

update_dict = {"fields": [{"name": field_name, "domain": {"codedValues": [{"name": cv_name, "code": cv_code}]}}]}

fs.manager.update_definition(update_dict)‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍

When I run in my Jupyter Notebook, I get the error below. What am I missing? Is my 'update_dict' not correct (I ma inclined to think it isn't)? Is there a better way to script this out? Thanks.

Error:

Unable to update feature service layer definition.
Invalid definition for ''.
Invalid definition for System.Collections.Generic.List`1[ESRI.ArcGIS.SDS.FieldInfo]
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
RuntimeError                              Traceback (most recent call last)
<ipython-input-7-4fbf02d770c9> in <module>()
----> 1 fs.manager.update_definition(update_dict)

C:\Program Files\ArcGIS\Pro\bin\Python\envs\arcgispro-py3\lib\site-packages\arcgis\features\managers.py in update_definition(self, json_dict)
    981         u_url = self._url + "/updateDefinition"
--> 983         res = self._con.post(u_url, params)
    984         self.refresh()
    985         return res