Select to view content in your preferred language

Updating, Adding, and Automating Updates to Feature Layer in AGO using Python API

02-24-2022 12:26 AM
ChristopherCharles-Noriega
New Contributor II

Hello!
I am reaching out to see if anyone can provide information, resources, or tutorials that will help guide me in the right direction for a task I have taken on for my internship.

I'm new to Python API very novice. Still, I am tasked with creating a script that will update and add data to an AGO feature layer and automate updates to the layer from an API at specific time intervals (monthly) with little or no human intervention in AGO.

As I'm learning how to accomplish this task, I'm using a clone of the primary point feature layer, which will receive all the updates and TWO JSON samples of what would be received from the Service API endpoint. (which will run once a month).

The JSON samples are two types:

UPDATED features: 10 records
NEW features: 18 new records

Any advice from experts, resource recommendations, etc., would help get me started and be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Did you check out the links to the right of your question?

links.png

Often they will get you started, even before you have to consult the api documentation.

API Reference for the ArcGIS API for Python — arcgis 2.0.0 documentation

which is fine if you know exactly what you are looking for

... sort of retired...
0 Kudos
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

As Dan said, there are loads of examples already out there that probably cover this. I've even replied to some of them.