replace file path in table for AGOL hosted feature layer

Jump to solution
12-19-2018 08:17 AM
JaredPilbeam2
MVP Regular Contributor

I'm looking for a way to change the file path of 100+ fields in a table of a feature layer. I have Jupyter Notebook installed. I'm guessing it can be done with Python? I'm pretty familiar with arcpy, but I've never used python inside AGOL before. 

We recently set up a new server. This 'Attractions' layer (below) has pop-ups and in the pop-ups are links to images. But the file path to these images is to the old server. I want to use python to replace this old path with the updated one.

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Jared Pilbeam , 

In that case I think it might be easier to just perform two field calculations on the hosted feature layer. You could use Arcade for this:

View solution in original post

11 Replies
FFSL_-_JustinJohnson
New Contributor III

Have you done much with Python's string methods?  The code below should get you most of the way there.  It's based on the steps outlined here:  Editing Features | ArcGIS for Developers 

You will need the URL of your organization account and your username/password, and the URL of the Feature Layer you want to edit.  After that, you'll need the name of the field containing the URL strings.  Then, you'll need to write the expression to change the current value in the field to the desired value.

Let me know if you have any issues.

from arcgis.gis import GIS
from arcgis.features import FeatureLayer

# create the GIS object from the arcgis.gis module
gis = GIS("http://[your organization name].maps.arcgis.com", username="[your username]", password="[your password]")

# get the Feature Layer from the Feature Layer URL
feat_layer_url = r'https://services.arcgis.com/[...]/arcgis/rest/services/[ ...]/FeatureServer/0'
feat_layer = FeatureLayer(feat_layer_url)

# query/get a list of features from the feature layer: