Jupyter Notebook with ArcGIS Pro 2.0

05-03-2018 05:24 AM
KentaOkuyama
New Contributor III

I'm a beginner ArcGIS Pro user. I'm also a beginner to Python. After trying many example ArcPy scripts of geo-processing, I found it very useful and want to utilize them more efficently. I learned that Jupyter Notebook is pretty useful and it comes with the installation of ArcGIS Pro.

I have a issue of not seeing any folder choice that i can save and organize my scripts in Jupyter notebook. I really appreciate if anyone could help how to manage this.

I followed these steps of my instllation. 

1. Install ArcGIS Pro 2.0

2. Open a new project and go to the Python package manager

3. I installed arcgis package

4. I opened Python terminal under ArcGIS from the start menu, and typed Jupyter Notebook

5. Jupyter Notebook is opened and I can make scripts, run geo-processing tools

6. There is no problem of running the code. But there are no folders, such as Desktop or Documents in Jupyter Notebook that I can select, so all the created scripts are saved in Jupyter Notebook page without any directory

Do I need to install Anaconda to deal with this? 

I really appreciate any directions.

5 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

If you installed Pro, you already have the Anaconda distribution.  Did you install Jupyter through it?

you can create a folder like so.

0 Kudos
KentaOkuyama
New Contributor III

Hi Dan,

Thank you so much your assistance. 

I don't think I installed Jupyter through Anaconda distribution. I followed the step of this website.

Install and set up | ArcGIS for Developers 

As this instruction says, after I installed ArcGIS Pro 2.0, I opened a new project, and installed arcgis package. 

This is what I have installed. 

I don't see any Anaconda tool (nothing shows up when I type Anaconda in the search box of the start menu), and also don't see Jupyter notebook shortcut

So I type "jupyter notebook" in the Python Command Prompt, and use it as of now...