How to get ArcGIS API for Python to connect to an ArcGIS Online account with federated credentials and no password prompt

08-05-2019 08:11 AM
AndrewRudin1
Occasional Contributor II

I am a GIS professional within my organization. I'm trying to write a python script that can access our ArcGIS Online organization to help me automate management the layers and other items I'm responsible for.  Some of these layers are not shared publicly and are restricted by groups within the org.  I login into our organization with an account federated with our Active Directory.  I want the script I'm writing to run at night and obtain info from all my items, so it can't prompt me for a password at runtime.

I'm following the instructions in the API help (link here) for how to connect, but I'm running into issues.  Specifically I'm using the sample code from the section after the paragraph:

"If the configured identity provider is compatible, you may also be able to provide your username and password, along with the client_id for a non interactive login experience using OAuth 2.0, as shown below:"

I have Pro 2.4 installed, and I'm using a python environment that has the ArcGIS API for python upgraded to 1.6.2.

Here is my code:

import arcgis

gis = arcgis.GIS("https://myagolorg.maps.arcgis.com", username="MyActiveDirectoryUsername", password="MyActiveDirectoryPassword", client_id='MyAGOLAppClientID')

print("Successfully logged in as: " + gis.properties.user.username)

When I run this in a Jupyter Notebook, I get a 'module not found error'.  

ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'bs4'

I googled bs4 and figured out it's a module named BeautifulSoup4.  I went back into Pro and added that package to my environment 

After this install is done I rerun by script, but now I get a variable reference error: 

UnboundLocalError: local variable 'oauth_info' referenced before assignment