Export Privileges Confusion

11-18-2020 12:13 PM
MKF62
by
Occasional Contributor III

I'm trying to figure out why I can't export data from my group.  According to export tool documentation, you either need to own the service or be an administrator; I am an administrator for our organization (role = org_admin when I print it in python): https://developers.arcgis.com/python/api-reference/arcgis.gis.toc.html#arcgis.gis.Item.export

What am I misunderstanding here? When I run this code, I get an error that says "You do not have permissions to access this resource or perform this operation"

gis = GIS("https://www.arcgis.com", username="xxx", password="xxx")
    myRole = gis.users.me.role #org_admin
    gID = gis.groups.search('title: "NBCI Maps"')[0].id
    grp = Group(gis, gID)
    content = grp.content()
    for item in content:
        if "Markup" in item.title:
            markup = item
    hm = markup.export('test', 'File Geodatabase')

The user who has published a markup layer (feature collection) to the group is also a member of our organization. If I go on arcgis online on desktop and log in with my administrator account, I have the capability via the "Analysis > Manage Data > Export Data" function in the web map to export the same data I'm trying to access with python (owned by a different user). There should be no reason I can't do it in Python from what I can tell. Would love some insight on this.

3 Replies
DougBrowning
MVP Esteemed Contributor

I am suddenly getting this on a script that worked before as well. 

I tracked it down to that you can now only export Items you own.  When did this start?  Is this some sort of bug?  I am in the group, export is on, I am even the group manager.  It all works fine when I am the owner.

Also I can manually export the item using the AGOL interface manually.  So it must be a API issue.

result = fsLink.export("tempOut"+ HFSname, "File Geodatabase")