Connection Error - GIS() class

Jump to solution
06-01-2022 04:51 PM
neil_perol
New Contributor II

Hi all. I'm very new to ArcGIS Pro and the ArcGIS API for Python. It says in the documentation that if I install ArcGIS Pro, I don't need any other installations, however, I've been having this connection issue at the very first step:

from arcgis.gis import GIS
from arcgis.features import FeatureLayer
gis = GIS()

neil_perol_1-1654127122107.png

Anyone knows what's happening here and if I need additional installations/environments?

Installed: ArcGIS Pro 2.8, Python 3.7.10, ArcGIS API 1.8.5

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
neil_perol
New Contributor II

I found the underlying issue with this, and it's because of the network firewall. I am working on a government building and we have a very secure network which closes the connection as soon as it's made. I tried the codes at home and they work just fine.

View solution in original post

8 Replies
Brian_Wilson
Occasional Contributor III

arcgis module is for talking to ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Enterprise

I always feed it the URL of my server, like this for example

gis = GIS(url="https://myserver/portal", user="rocky", password="flyingsquirrel")

In theory there are defaults, but they don't work for me. You probably have to be running from inside ArcGIS Pro or something and I never am. I work in Visual Studio Code all the time.

BTW you don't even need ArcGIS Pro installed, you can install the arcgis module directly into a separate Conda environment on a machine that does not have ArcGIS Pro installed and it will still work. I use it on Linux.

neil_perol
New Contributor II

Hi Brian, thanks for the reply.

Theoretically, I should still be have an anonymous connection to www.arcgis.com if I use gis = GIS().
I also tried adding portal url before posting this question, but I still couldn't connect. A different error though:

neil_perol_0-1654129610774.png

0 Kudos
Brian_Wilson