ArcGIS for Python and arcpy - drive time areas result and local data

Jump to solution
06-21-2019 12:36 AM
AlessandroValra
Occasional Contributor III

Hello,

I am new to the ArcGIS for Python API but I am kind of expert in arcpy.

My aim would be to use the ArcGIS for Python API to perform drive-time-areas analysis (DTA) like explained here and then use the result to perform spatial selections with arcpy on some local data (e.g. ShapeFiles or others).

My doubts:

1. Do I need to upload all the input data or is there a way to avoid this step?
  2. If I have to, is it possible via the API?
  3. Will I then be able to use the result from DTA to perform spatial selection with arcpy against local data or do I have to upload the local data/download the result locally?

As regards this last point, I guess one thing to handle would be the JSON format of the resulting SHAPE field from DTA.

I know that from ArcGIS Pro one can use Feature Layers from AGOL directly to perform this kind of operations, as opposed to ArcMap where one has to make a copy of it. But, what about via a python script?

Is there any better option? Thanks in advance for any hints or advice.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AlessandroValra

DISCLAIMER : Use the provided code at your own risk or you'll blown your credits away!!! (see my comment below the answer)

Answering myself.

It's been tough but I did it.

First of all, I have to say the ArcGIS for Pytho documentation is not very good, at least for the create_drive_time_areas function.

Anyway, the way I performed DTA analysis with a local FeatureClass was:

1. converting it to a FeatureSet
  2. Converting the FeatureSet into a JSON and then into a dict
  3. use this dict as input to the create_drive_time_areas function

I am going to convert the result of the analysis (now a hosted feature layer in my organizational AGOL account), which is now in the form of a FeatureSet, back to a (in_memory) FeatureClass and do my stuff with arcpy.