Append() takes no keyword arguments

02-12-2021 08:56 AM
pmccord
New Contributor III

I'm pretty new to the ArcGIS API for Python. I'm trying to use the Append function to append data from a source file geodatabase that is hosted on AGO to a target feature layer. I'm using the upsert parameter because, not only am I adding additional features to the target from the source, but I've also changed some of the attributes within the source and I want those changes reflected in the target.

What I'm trying to do is pretty basic I think, but when I run my script I get the message "append() takes no keyword arguments". 

Here's my code:

import os

from arcgis.gis import GIS

# Create a GIS connection to AGO where the test data is located
gis = GIS(url, username, password)

# Target feature layer (feature layer with fewer points that needs to be updated)
target_item = gis.content.get("1fbf6a4e1ebe4720aa7036a3d52f7544")
print("feature layer to update:", target_item)
target_lyr = target_item.layers

# Look for the unique field within the target layer
# simply verifies that I had a field with unique values in my target layer
"""
uk_flds = (f.fields for f in target_lyr[0].properties.indexes if f.isUnique)
for fld in target_lyr[0].properties.fields:
    if fld.name in uk_flds:
        print(f"{fld.name:30}{fld.type:25}isUnique")
    else:
        print(f"{fld.name:30}{fld.type:25}")
"""

# Source fgdb
src_lyr = gis.content.search("Water_system_valves_source")[0]
print(src_lyr)

# Run the Append function
target_lyr.append(
    source_table_name="test",
    item_id=src_lyr.id,
    upload_format="filegdb",
    upsert=True,
    skip_updates=False,
    use_globalids=False,
    update_geometry=True,
    append_fields=["FID", "VALVETYPE", "Creator"],
    rollback=False,
    skip_inserts=False,
    upsert_matching_field="FID",
)