Locate Button with ArcOnline Web Map

Jump to solution
06-25-2014 10:39 AM
Gary_A_Goeschel_II
New Contributor
I apologize in advance, my question is rather elementary.  I have little to no Javascript experience but you have to start somewhere, am I right?  On to my question:

I can't seem to get the Locator Button to work when I replace the standard basemap in the sample code with a arcOnline web map.  The web map works, the locator button is visible and toggles between default button and the useTracking button, but the extent of the map doesn't change and the locator symbol is not visible.

My code is here:
<!DOCTYPE HTML> <html> <head>   <meta charset="utf-8">   <meta name="viewport" content="initial-scale=1, maximum-scale=1,user-scalable=no">   <title>Locate Button and WebID</title>   <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="http://js.arcgis.com/3.9/js/esri/css/esri.css">   <style>     html, body, #mapDiv {       padding:0;       margin:0;       height:100%;     }     #LocateButton {       position: absolute;       top: 95px;       left: 20px;       z-index: 50;     }   </style>   <script src="//js.arcgis.com/3.9/"></script>   <script>      var map  var geoLocate     require([       "esri/map",       "esri/arcgis/utils",    "esri/dijit/LocateButton",       "dojo/domReady!"       ], function (Map, arcgisUtils, LocateButton) {         arcgisUtils.createMap("4778fee6371d4e83a22786029f30c7e1", "mapDiv").then(function (response) {         map = response.map        });    geoLocate = new LocateButton({         map: mapDiv,   scale: 11,   useTracking: true       }, "LocateButton");       geoLocate.startup();             });   </script>    </head>    <body>     <div id="mapDiv" class="map">  <div id="LocateButton"></div>  </div>   </body>   </html>

Thanks in advance for all of your help!
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LisCollins
Occasional Contributor