Casting shadow on polylines

02-12-2016 01:23 PM
JúlioLuta
New Contributor III

Hi,

Can I - using shadow volumes - interpolate its values in polylines? (Like we interpolate z values from topography)

I have 3d polylines and I'll model the buildings, can I using these inputs store somehow the shadow/sun in every polyline?

I also have the raster topography layer and can create a terrain surface if this would allow me to have a sort of raster sun shadow layer that could be used to interpolate sun shadow values on polylines.

I'm still a bit confused about the Sun Shadow Volume tool and I'm not that experienced with ArcGIS so I'm just speculating.

Cheers

0 Kudos
5 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

they are stored as closed multipatches

Sun Shadow Volume—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop

and conversions are listed here

Multipatch to Raster—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop

Multipatch To Collada—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop 

not sure what you are looking for though

0 Kudos
JúlioLuta
New Contributor III

Thanks for the reply.

In the Sun Shadow Volume:

- To confirm if I understood correctly, I need to use the 3d buildings and the terrain right?

- The terrain can be in a raster layer or should I model it in a different feature?

To simplify and dividing it into steps, what I need to do:

1a- Create sun polygons and shade polygons from the sun shadow raster/multipatch.

or

1b- Intercept polylines with the shade part of the raster/multipatch and do a second intercept with the sun part.

and

2- Store in the polylines I already have in which polygon(or polyline group) they are the most. If they are >50% inside the sun polygon I'd store 1, otherwise 0.

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

You will have to report on your suggested workflow since I dont have the data to test myself to confirm... report back

0 Kudos
JúlioLuta
New Contributor III

I just read about the Intersect 3D Line With Multipatch so in the next days I'll try to test the workflow.