Select to view content in your preferred language

query.where syntax issue

Jump to solution
04-09-2014 06:53 AM
williamcarr
Frequent Contributor
2 part question:

The first part is getting the value of
  <select class="field" name="field" id="selectfield">        <option value="FIRSTNAME">First Name</option>   <option value="LAST_NAME">Last Name</option>   <option value="Service_ID">Service ID</option>   <option value="TOWNSHIP">Township</option> </select>

to be a variable in a query.where

var sel = dom.byId("input1").value; query.where = "  (select option variable) LIKE'" + sel +"'"; 

Essentially we need the user to select the query field in from the drop down menu. I'm hoping this is possible and I'm just running into syntax issues.

The second part is making the query accept partial or misspelled text inputs. I'm new to JS and this is really racking my brain. Any help is appreciated.
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JeffPace
MVP Alum
ok there is two options

if you want to use the dijit, you have to use the parser and call parser.parse() to make the dijits.  This will allow you to use the registry.

the other option is to go back to what you had and just to get the value from the select

I would advise option 1 because it will be more useful in the long run, but will be more work. 

However, the easy answer (option2)