Story Maps and local ArcGIS for Server

10-28-2013 11:46 AM
KentOgletree
New Contributor
I have one project that could really use the Shortlist Story Map. However this requires an ArcGIS Onliine account. Since we have a pretty heavy investment into our local copy of ArcGIS installed locally, there really is no need to setup an ArcGIS Online account.

Has anyone hacked the code enough for the Story Maps to know where I would start to change this to point to my local server? Or know of a similar example. I really only need to have a map to display Points of Interest with Popups that have a short description and link to a separate page.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
DorothyMortenson
Occasional Contributor II
Did you ever figure this out? I'm just getting into the same boat. 

Dorothy
0 Kudos
BrianWays1
New Contributor III
In order to use the Shortlist Storytelling map template,You have to get the ID from the web map that you produce on ArcGIS online, so ArcGIS online is required. It takes no time at all to setup an ArcGIS online account and it is free with your license. Here at Coldwell Utah we have an account, and I know that Draper City does too. There is no need to "hack" anything. Just upload your .CSV files to a web map on ArcGIS online then copy the ID into the configuration in the source code. Save and host it. http://blogs.esri.com/esri/arcgis/2013/06/21/using-the-storytelling-shortlist-template/
0 Kudos
DorothyMortenson
Sounds like the answer is it cannot be done, which is unfortunate.
0 Kudos
MattLane
I wouldn't say it can't be done, just a matter of deciding if it's worth the effort.

For example, the webmap id is just how they download (through json) the map's information, which then constructs the map. This createmap utility function mentions that instead of a webmap id you can provide the response object. So you could craft your own json response object and try putting that in the template and see if it will work.
0 Kudos
KentOgletree
New Contributor