cannot edit or create new features in ArcGIS.com

10-14-2013 03:07 AM
josesanchez1
New Contributor III
Hi all,

When I try editing a particular layer within my map service (using Mozilla 24) in ArcGIS.com, the web tool appears and even I am able to draw the polygon onto the screen, but when I try to do double click for closing it, it disappears and I loss what I have done.

The map service is stored within ArcGIS Server 10.1, so what I am trying to do it is just paste the URL of the map service into my browser and try to edit and creating new features from there. The map service has the feature access enabled.

The source of the data is stored within ORACLE 11g.

I would like to know how I could solve this. Overall, what I want to do is just editing within my Mozzilla browser. Perhaps I have to configure the map service in another way or maybe setting the oracle database connection in a different way.

I am not an expert on this, so any help will be welcome. IT is the first time I use Arcgis.com

Thanks in advance,

Jose.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor
Typically, when you enable feature access, you get two services: a map service and a feature service. It's the feature service that supports editing, if you've enabled it. This is the service you need to add to your web map.

Is your feature service publicly accessible on the internet? Check the version number of your arcgis server that it is 10.1 SP1.

http://forums.arcgis.com/threads/71801-Adding-new-records-to-feature-service

Thanks,

Mike
0 Kudos
josesanchez1
New Contributor III
Mike, thanks.

You mean Mapping (always enabled) and Feature Access?. Yes, both are enabled.