BasemapGallery is not displaying

07-02-2013 01:17 AM
SHJang
by
New Contributor II
I am very new to JavaScript and ArcGIS.
I am trying to implementing the ArcGIS BasemapGallery widget into my application.
I am making it base on this sample example by ESRI (https://developers.arcgis.com/en/javascript/jssamples/widget_basemap.html).
The extendable dijit.TitlePane is appeared on the corner of my map window. However, when I extend the basemapgallary titlepane, it is appeared as an empty box.  I am aware of that I have to run this code via Http://, I put my html file and css files into our server. But there is no luck. Could anyone help me what I am doing wrong?
I am using ESRI JS 3.5 with FireFox 22.

Here is my code:
      // I added into <script>
      dojo.require("esri.virtualearth.VETiledLayer");
      dojo.require("dijit.TitlePane");
      dojo.require("esri.dijit.BasemapGallery");

//this is a js part
     //add the basemap gallery
        var basemapGallery = new esri.dijit.BasemapGallery({
          showArcGISBasemaps: true,
          map: map
        }, "basemapGallery");

basemapGallery.startup();
          dojo.connect(basemapGallery, "onError", function(msg){console.log(msg)});

//This is a HTML part
       <!--base map-->
          <div style = "position:absolute; right:10px; top:50px; z-index:9999;">
          <div data-dojo-type="dijit.TitlePane" data-dojo-props="title:'Switch Basemap', closable:false,  open:false" >
            <div data-dojo-type="dijit.layout.ContentPane" style="width:380px; height:280px; overflow:auto;">
              <div id="basemapGallery" ></div>
            </div>
          </div>
          </div>

Many thanks in advance.
Best,
0 Kudos
4 Replies
NicholasKnabe
New Contributor
I'm not an expert at this at all but just from looking at your code and looking at the sample you might want to try an add the first layer to your application

var map;

function init() {