JavaScript viewer or HTML5 viewer

12-28-2012 10:48 AM
JoshWhite
Regular Contributor III
I'm not a developer but I've run into something recently.  I discovered that Adobe no longer supports Flash on mobile and therefore not Flex.  I've been working with the Flex Viewer but I discovered the viewer can not be seen on mobile devices.  So, that leads me to the next step.  I've read forums and blog posts that suggest everything is moving towards HTML5 and I guess JavaScript.  Are there any intentions to create a JavaScript Viewer or an HTML5 viewer similar to Flex and Silverlight?  I've tried out the ArcGIS for Android and while it gets the basic functions still leaves a lot to be desired. Does anyone have any suggestions or places to point to that would allow a fully functional web app on mobile and still be as easy to use as the Flex Viewer?
Josh White, AICP
Principal Planner

City of Arkansas City
0 Kudos
8 Replies
JohnGravois
Frequent Contributor
the short answer is no.  the javascript team isn't working on one "end-all, be all" viewer, but rather suggest that the variety of app templates available on arcgis.com be used as a potential starting point for developers. 

this has been discussed pretty extensively, recently here, so its probably worth checking out existing posts.
0 Kudos
danbecker
Occasional Contributor III